
Kinko's
Ventures, Inc. v. PrintingQuotes.net
Claim Number: FA0107000097776
PARTIES
Complainant is Kinko's Ventures, Inc., Ventura, CA, USA (“Complainant”) represented by James H. Cornell, of Kinko's Ventures, Inc. Respondent is PrintingQuotes.Net, Chicago, IL, USA (“Respondent”).
REGISTRAR AND
DISPUTED DOMAIN NAME
The domain name at issue is <kinkocopy.com> registered with Network Solutions.
PANEL
The undersigned certifies that he has acted independently and impartially and to the best of his knowledge, has no known conflict in serving as Panelist in this proceeding.
Judge Ralph Yachnin as Panelist.
PROCEDURAL HISTORY
Complainant submitted a Complaint to the National Arbitration Forum (the “Forum”) electronically on July 2, 2001; the Forum received a hard copy of the Complaint on July 2, 2001.
On July 3, 2001, Network Solutions confirmed by e-mail to the Forum that the domain name <kinkocopy.com> is registered with Network Solutions and that Respondent is the current registrant of the name. Network Solutions has verified that Respondent is bound by the Network Solutions 5.0 registration agreement and has thereby agreed to resolve domain-name disputes brought by third parties in accordance with ICANN’s Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy (the “Policy”).
On July 3, 2001, a Notification of Complaint and Commencement of Administrative Proceeding (the “Commencement Notification”), setting a deadline of July 23, 2001 by which Respondent could file a Response to the Complaint, was transmitted to Respondent via e-mail, post and fax, to all entities and persons listed on Respondent’s registration as technical, administrative and billing contacts, and to postmaster@kinkocopy.com by e-mail.
Having received no Response from Respondent, using the same contact details and methods as were used for the Commencement Notification, the Forum transmitted to the parties a Notification of Respondent Default.
On July 25, 2001, pursuant to Complainant’s request to have the dispute decided by a single-member Panel, the Forum appointed Judge Ralph Yachnin as Panelist.
Having reviewed the communications records, the Administrative Panel (the “Panel”) finds that the Forum has discharged its responsibility under Paragraph 2(a) of the Rules for Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy (the “Rules”) “to employ reasonably available means calculated to achieve actual notice to Respondent.” Therefore, the Panel may issue its Decision based on the documents submitted and in accordance with the ICANN Policy, ICANN Rules, the Forum’s Supplemental Rules and any rules and principles of law that the Panel deems applicable, without the benefit of any Response from Respondent.
RELIEF SOUGHT
Complainant requests that the domain name be transferred from Respondent to Complainant.
PARTIES’ CONTENTIONS
A. Complainant
The <kinkocopy.com> domain
name is confusingly similar to Complainant’s federally registered KINKO’S and
KINKO’S COPIES family of marks.
Respondent has no rights or
legitimate interests in the <kinkocopy.com> domain name.
Respondent registered and used the <kinkocopy.com> domain name in bad faith.
B. Respondent
No Response was received.
FINDINGS
Since 1970, Complainant has continuously used its KINKO’S and KINKO’S COPIES federally registered family of marks in connection with its photocopying and other graphics-related services. Complainant registered its KINKO’S mark as early as December 19, 1978 as Registration No. 1,109,701. Complainant also registered its KINKO’S COPIES mark as early as December 27, 1994 as Registration No. 1,870,011.
Respondent registered the <kinkocopy.com> domain name on March 22, 2001. Respondent created a website for its printing business located at the disputed domain name.
DISCUSSION
Paragraph
15(a) of the Rules instructs this Panel to “decide a complaint on the basis of
the statements and documents submitted in accordance with the Policy, these
Rules and any rules and principles of law that it deems applicable.”
In view of Respondent's failure to submit a response, the Panel shall decide this administrative proceeding on the basis of the Complainant's undisputed representations pursuant to paragraphs 5(e), 14(a) and 15(a) of the Rules.
Paragraph 4(a) of the Policy requires that the Complainant must prove each of the following three elements to obtain an order that a domain name should be cancelled or transferred:
(1) the domain name registered by the Respondent is identical or confusingly similar to a trademark or service mark in which the Complainant has rights;
(2) the Respondent has no rights or legitimate interests in respect of the domain name; and
(3) the domain name has been registered and is being used in bad faith.
Identical and/or
Confusingly Similar
The Panel finds
that Policy ¶ 4(a)(i) has been satisfied.
Rights or
Legitimate Interests
There is no evidence in the record, and Respondent has not come forward to establish that it is commonly known by the <kinkocopy.com> domain name pursuant to Policy ¶ 4(c)(ii). See Gallup Inc. v. Amish Country Store, FA 96209 (Nat. Arb. Forum Jan. 23, 2001) (finding that Respondent does not have rights in domain name when Respondent is not known by the mark).
The Panel finds that Respondent has no rights or legitimate interests in the disputed domain names, and that Policy ¶ 4(a)(ii) has been satisfied.
Registration and
Use in Bad Faith
Respondent’s use of the disputed domain name to attract Internet users, for commercial gain, to Respondent’s website by creating a likelihood of confusion with Complainant’s KINKO’S and KINKO’S COPIES family of marks further supports a finding of bad faith pursuant to Policy ¶ 4(b)(iv). See TM Acquisition Corp. v. Carroll, FA 97035 (Nat. Arb. Forum May 14, 2001) (finding bad faith where Respondent used domain name, for commercial gain, to intentionally attract users to a direct competitor of Complainant); see also Scholastic Inc. v. Applied Software Solutions, Inc., D2000-1629 (WIPO Mar. 15, 2001) (finding bad faith under Policy ¶ 4(b)(iv) where Respondent initially used the domain name at issue to resolve to a website where competing educational services were offered to the same market as that served by Complainant).
The Panel finds that Policy ¶ 4(a)(iii) has been satisfied.
DECISION
Having established all three of the elements under the ICANN Policy, the Panel concludes that the requested relief should be hereby granted.
Accordingly, it is Ordered that the <kinkocopy.com> domain name be transferred from Respondent to Complainant.
Hon. Ralph Yachnin,
Panelist
Justice, Supreme Court, NY (Ret.)
Dated: July 27, 2001
Click Here to return to the main Domain Decisions Page.
Click Here to return to our Home Page