
TMFT Enterprises, LLC v. Mark Cosstick
Claim Number: FA0508000531518
PARTIES
Complainant
is TMFT Enterprises, LLC (“Complainant”),
represented by Melissa A. Vallone, of Barnes & Thornburg LLP,
One North Wacker Drive, Suite 4400, Chicago, IL 60606-2809. Respondent is Mark Cosstick (“Respondent”), represented by Ari Goldberger, of ESQwire.com Law Firm,
35 Cameo Drive, Cherry Hill, NJ 08003.
REGISTRAR AND DISPUTED DOMAIN NAME
The
domain name at issue is <bigboys.com>,
registered with Enom, Inc.
PANEL
The
undersigned certify that they have acted independently and impartially and to
the best of their knowledge have no known conflict in serving as Panelists in
this proceeding.
Hon.
Bruce E. Meyerson (Ret.), Hon. Timothy O’Leary (Ret.) and Prof. David Sorkin as
Panelists.
PROCEDURAL HISTORY
Complainant
submitted a Complaint to the National Arbitration Forum electronically on August
4, 2005; the National Arbitration Forum received a hard copy of the Complaint
on August 8, 2005.
On
August 4, 2005, Enom, Inc. confirmed by e-mail to the National Arbitration
Forum that the <bigboys.com>
domain name is registered with Enom, Inc. and that the Respondent is the
current registrant of the name. Enom,
Inc. has verified that Respondent is bound by the Enom, Inc. registration
agreement and has thereby agreed to resolve domain-name disputes brought by
third parties in accordance with ICANN’s Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution
Policy (the “Policy”).
On
August 11, 2005, a Notification of Complaint and Commencement of Administrative
Proceeding (the “Commencement Notification”), setting a deadline of August 31,
2005 by which Respondent could file a Response to the Complaint, was
transmitted to Respondent via e-mail, post and fax, to all entities and persons
listed on Respondent’s registration as technical, administrative and billing
contacts, and to postmaster@bigboys.com by e-mail.
A
timely Response was received and determined to be complete on the extended
deadline date of September 14, 2005.
Complainant
submitted a timely Additional Submission on September 20, 2005 and Respondent
submitted a timely Additional Submission on September 27, 2005.
On September 27, 2005, pursuant to Complainant’s request
to have the dispute decided by a three-member
Panel, the National Arbitration Forum
appointed the Hon. Bruce E. Meyerson (Ret.), Hon. Timothy O’Leary (Ret.)
and Prof. David Sorkin as Panelists.
RELIEF SOUGHT
Complainant
requests that the domain name be transferred from Respondent to Complainant.
PARTIES’ CONTENTIONS
A. Complainant
Complainant
asserts that it, and its predecessor, have been using the BIG BOYS mark in
commerce since 1998. Complainant has
filed for a federal trademark with the United States Patent and Trademark
Office on July 26, 2005 seeking to register the BIG BOYS mark. Complainant contends that Respondent
registered the <bigboys.com>
domain name knowing of Complainant’s mark and Complainant’s
<big-boys.com> web site.
Complainant contends that Respondent registered the dispute domain name
in order to “hold it hostage to extract an exorbitant price from”
Complainant. Complainant contends that
Respondent has a history of cybersquatting and domain name piracy which
demonstrates that its actions in this case are in bad faith.
B. Respondent
Respondent
contends Complainant does not have “exclusive” rights to the descriptive term
“big boys.” Respondent asserts that
Complainant has not used the BIG BOYS mark for retail store services, contrary
to Complainant’s assertion. Respondent
states that it purchased the domain name for the purpose of developing a
shopping portal geared toward men.
Respondent states that Complainant filed its trademark application only
after Complainant contacted Respondent seeking to purchase the domain name.
C. Additional Submissions
In
its Additional Submission, Complainant asserts that a secondary meaning has
been established in its BIG BOYS mark, thus entitling it to common law
trademark rights. Complainant further
disputes Respondent’s claims regarding its lack of knowledge of Complainant’s
web site and trademark rights. In its
Additional Submission, Respondent disputes these contentions.
FINDINGS
Complainant filed for a federal trademark
with the United States Patent and Trademark Office on July 26, 2005 for the BIG
BOYS mark. That application is
pending. The <bigboys.com> domain name was purchased by Respondent in July
2005. The BIG BOYS mark is descriptive
and the record in this proceeding has not demonstrated that the mark has an
established secondary meaning.
DISCUSSION
Paragraph 15(a) of the Rules for Uniform Domain Name
Dispute Resolution Policy (the “Rules”) instructs this Panel to “decide a
complaint on the basis of the statements and documents submitted in accordance
with the Policy, these Rules and any rules and principles of law that it deems
applicable.”
Paragraph
4(a) of the Policy requires that the Complainant must prove each of the
following three elements to obtain an order that a domain name should be
cancelled or transferred:
(1)
the domain
name registered by the Respondent is identical or confusingly similar to a
trademark or service mark in which the Complainant has rights;
(2)
the
Respondent has no rights or legitimate interests in respect of the domain name;
and
(3)
the domain
name has been registered and is being used in bad faith.
Because
Complainant has not established that it has rights in a trademark that is
identical or confusingly similar to the domain name in dispute, the Panel will
only address that issue.
Respondent
correctly contends that Complainant does not have “rights” in the BIG BOYS mark
within the meaning of the Policy because a pending trademark application with
the United States Patent and Trademark Office is insufficient to establish
rights in a mark for the purpose of Policy ¶ 4(a)(i).
Wave Indus., Inc. v. Angler Supply, FA 304784 (Nat. Arb.
Forum Sept. 20, 2004) (the complainant’s pending trademark applications did not
establish rights because “an application for [a] mark is not per se sufficient
to establish rights [in] a trademark for the purposes of the [Policy]”); ECG European City Guide v. Woodell,
FA 183897 (Nat. Arb. Forum Oct. 14, 2003) (“Complainant’s mere application to
the USPTO to register the ECG mark is insufficient to establish rights to the
mark.”); Computer Nerds Int’l, Inc. v. Ultimate Search, FA 155179 (Nat.
Arb. Forum June 23, 2003) (“Complainant's pending trademark applications do not
establish its rights in the mark pursuant to Policy 4(a)(i).”).
Moreover,
the Panel agrees with Respondent’s contention that Complainant has not
established common law rights in the mark because the record contains no
evidence of secondary meaning such that consumers identify the BIG BOYS mark
with Complainant. The Panel has
carefully considered the affidavit of Keith Richman. Because Complainant’s mark is inherently descriptive—the
combination of the words “big” and “boy”—the evidence necessary to establish
secondary meaning is substantial. Link Clicks v. Zuccarini, D2000-1547 (WIPO Jan. 12, 2001). In other words, Complainant bears a
substantial burden of proving distinctiveness and secondary meaning. Chromalloy
Men’s Apparel Group v. Burch &
Hatfield Formal Shops, D2000-1046
(WIPO Oct. 20, 2000). The proof of distinctiveness
and secondary meaning offered by Complainant[1]
does not, in the opinion of the Panel, establish common law rights in the BIG
BOY mark. See Weatherford Int’l, Inc. v.
Wells, FA 153626 (Nat. Arb. Forum May 19, 2003) (“Although
Complainant asserts common law rights in the WELLSERV mark, it failed to submit
any evidence indicating extensive use or that its claimed mark has achieved
secondary source identity . . . [Complainant’s claim that
it is well known] is a finding that must be supported by evidence and not
self-serving assertions.”); Molecular Nutrition,
Inc. v. Network News & Publ’ns, FA
156715 (Nat. Arb. Forum June 24, 2003) (finding that the complainant failed to
establish common law rights in its mark because mere assertions of such rights
are insufficient without accompanying evidence to demonstrate that the public
identifies the complainant’s mark exclusively or primarily with the
complainant’s products).
DECISION
Having
failed to establish that the Complainant has rights in a trademark that is
identical or confusingly similar to the domain name in dispute, the Panel
concludes that relief shall be DENIED.
Hon. Bruce E. Meyerson (Ret.) Panel Chair
Hon. Timothy O’Leary (Ret.) and Prof.
David Sorkin, Panelists
Dated: October 10, 2005
[1] The affidavit of Mr. Richman states that the web site owned by Complainant at <big-boy.com> has (1) been mentioned in several publications, (2) over 270,000 registered members, (3) generated significant advertising revenue, and (4) been used in connection with topics of interest to men since 1998.
Click Here to return to the main Domain Decisions Page.
Click Here to return to our Home Page