DECISION

 

 

Williard C. Smith III v. Vip Mangalick d/b/a iMegaMillions.com

Claim Number: FA0305000156844

 

 

PARTIES

Complainant is Williard C. Smith III, Beverly Hills, CA (“Complainant”) represented by Barbara A. Solomon, of Fross Zelnick Lehrman & Zissu, P.C.  Respondent is Vip Mangalick d/b/a iMegaMillions.com, Franklin, MI (“Respondent”).

 

 

REGISTRAR AND DISPUTED DOMAIN NAME 

The domain name at issue is <willsmith.us>, registered with Go Daddy Software, Inc.

 

 

PANEL

The undersigned certifies that he or she has acted independently and impartially and to the best of his or her knowledge has no known conflict in serving as Panelist in this proceeding.

 

R. Glen Ayers was selected as Panelist.

 

 

PROCEDURAL HISTORY

Complainant submitted a Complaint to the National Arbitration Forum (the “Forum”) electronically on May 8, 2003; the Forum received a hard copy of the Complaint on May 9, 2003.

 


On May 9, 2003, Go Daddy Software, Inc. confirmed by e-mail to the Forum that the domain name <willsmith.us> is registered with Go Daddy Software, Inc. and that the Respondent is the current registrant of the name. Go Daddy Software, Inc. has verified that Respondent is bound by the Go Daddy Software, Inc. registration agreement and has thereby agreed to resolve domain-name disputes brought by third parties in accordance with the U. S. Department of Commerce’s usTLD Dispute Resolution Policy (“usDRP”).

 

On May 12, 2003, a Notification of Complaint and Commencement of Administrative Proceeding (the “Commencement Notification”), setting a deadline of June 2, 2003 by which Respondent could file a Response to the Complaint, was transmitted to Respondent in compliance with 2(a) of the Rules of Procedure for the usTLD Dispute Resolution Policy (the “usDRP Rules”).

 

A timely Response was received and determined to be complete on June 2, 2003.

 

On June 12, 2003, pursuant to Complainant’s request to have the dispute decided by a single-member Panel, the Forum appointed R. Glen Ayers as Panelist.

 

 

RELIEF SOUGHT

Complainant requests that the domain name be transferred from Respondent to Complainant.

 

 

PARTIES’ CONTENTIONS

A. Complainant

Complainant contends that Willard C. Smith, also known as “Will Smith”, is a famous actor and performer, holding both a registered trademark and entitled to assert a common law trademark in his name, or the shortened form of his name “Will Smith.”  Mr. Smith is a very well known name.

 

Complainant asserts that his trademark is identical to or confusingly similar to the domain name registered by Respondent.  That domain name is <willsmith.us>.

 

Complainant asserts that Respondent registered the domain name on April 24, 2002, by which time Will Smith held a registered federal trademark.

 

Complainant also asserts that the domain name has not been used for any purpose.

 

Complainant asserts that it sent a demand letter concerning use of the domain name to which Respondent replied that he “had received offers for up to $500.00 for the purchase of the domain name.  Respondent then advised that he would sell the domain name to Complainant for $100.00.”  Of course, this was never done.

 

Complainant stresses that Respondent appears to hold no rights or legitimate interest in the domain name and asserts that Respondent has not licensed the use of the domain name. 

 


Finally, Complainant stresses the offer to sell the domain name is an element of bad faith.  But, Complainant also asserts that the name was registered without authorization, which is evidence of bad faith.  Complainant asserts that Respondent certainly had constructive notice of Mr. Smith’s exclusive right to the use of the name.  Complainant notes that registration of the domain name blocks use by Complainant.  All of this adds up to what some panels have referred to as “opportunistic bad faith.”  See Veuve Cliquot Ponsardin v. The Polygenic Group Co., WIPO D2000-0163.  Complainant asserts that similar finds have been made by panels dealing with domain names which compete with the claims of such persons as Emeril Lagasse and others.

 

 

B. Respondent

Respondent, in a very brief Response, points out that Will Smith is a fairly common name and his argument can best be summarized by a quote:

 

As the name “Will Smith” is one of the most common, indistinctive names in the United States, trademarking and claiming legal rights to such a name is analogous to trademarking the word “Air,” then further claiming rights to any similar names, whether it be “Air,” “Airplane,” or any other form of the word.

 

Respondent asserts that the domain name has been used for the transmittal of e-mails and therefore has had some use.

 

Finally, the domain name was not registered in bad faith, says the Respondent, because he did not register it for the purpose of selling (Respondent in fact originally agreed to sell for a nominal sum).  Respondent says he was “coerced” into making that offer.  Respondent notes that Will Smith made no attempt to reserve his name in the “.us” context even though he could easily have done so.  Finally, Respondent notes that there are no other elements of bad faith present.

 

 

FINDINGS

The Complainant has clearly demonstrated that the domain name and the trademark are identical. The Complainant has also demonstrated the Respondent has made no use of the domain name and has no rights in or interests in the name.  Those facts are essentially not disputed, even though Respondent would assert some uses for purposes of e-mails.

 

The real issue is whether or not there are sufficient elements of bad faith.  Complainant has established that Respondent was willing to sell the domain name.  However, before Respondent refused to go forward with that transaction, Respondent had agreed to a transfer for the nominal sum of $100.00.  Given the amount, there is certainly no objective evidence of bad faith.

 

 


Complainant’s best argument is basically, that no one would have registered “Will Smith” as a domain name without some element of bad faith, unless, of course, the Respondent were named “William Smith” or “Will Smith” or “Willard Smith.”  Here, given the statements made in Respondent’s response, it is fairly clear that Respondent intentionally registered <willsmith.us> knowing of a relationship to the famous actor and performer.  This panelist finds this to be a very close question.  As the panel stated in Emeril Lagasse v. VPOP Technologies, NAF 94373:  “The Complainant’s owned first and last names of the foundation of this trade and service mark. ...  The Respondent’s registration of emeril.com prevented Complainant from using his trademark in the corresponding domain name.”

 

The very act of registration then, said that panel, is bad faith because it prevents “Complainant from using its mark in a corresponding domain name.”

 

If Respondent had the least bit of interest in the name “Will Smith”, this panelist would find that there is not a sufficient showing of bad faith.  If the name itself were more distinctive (Emeril Lagasse, for example) the Panelist would have less hesitation.  The deciding factor is that the mark holder is very, very famous.

 

 

DISCUSSION

Paragraph 15(a) of the usDRP Rules instructs this Panel to “decide a Complaint on the basis of the statements and documents submitted in accordance with the Policy, these Rules and any rules and principles of law that it deems applicable.”

 

Paragraph 4(a) of the usDRP requires that the Complainant must prove each of the following three elements to obtain an order that a “.us” Domain Name was registered in violation of the usDRP and obtain an order that a “.us” Domain Name should be cancelled or transferred:

 

(1) the domain name registered by the Respondent is identical or confusingly similar to a trademark or service mark in which the Complainant has rights;

 

(2) the Respondent has no rights or legitimate interests in respect of the domain name; and

 

(3)            the domain name has been registered or is being used in bad faith.

 

Given the similarity between the Uniform Domain Name Dispute Resolution Policy (“UDRP”) and the usTLD Policy, the Panel will draw upon UDRP precedent as applicable in rendering its decision.

 

 


Identical and/or Confusingly Similar

      The domain name and trademark are obviously identical

 

 

 

Rights or Legitimate Interests

      Respondent has no rights or legitimate interests in the name.

 

 

Registration or Use in Bad Faith

      Respondent, by inference, has registered the name in bad faith, having no interest in the name and, by registering the name, blocking its use by “Will Smith.”  This is a close call, given the fact that the mark and name are so common.

 

 

DECISION

Having established all three elements required under ICANN Policy, the Panel concludes that relief shall be GRANTED.

 

Accordingly, it is Ordered that the <willsmith.us> domain name be TRANSFERRED from Respondent to Complainant.

 

 

 

 

R. GLEN AYERS, panelist

Dated:  June 26, 2003

 

 

Click Here to return to the main Domain Decisions Page.

Click Here to return to our Home Page